# OFFICIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE COUNTY BOARD

OF

IROQUOIS COUNTY, ILLINOIS
ORGANIZATIONAL SESSION
DECEMBER 3, A.D., 2018

#### **INDEX**

#### Organizational Session December 3, 2018

Call to Order	3
Prayer & Pledge of Allegiance	3
Oath of Office	
Nominations for County Board Chairman	3
Nominations for County Board Vice-Chairman	
Adopt Robert's Rules of Order	
Committee Appointments	4
Approve Bonds	
Designation of Depositories	
Adjournment	

## THE IROQUOIS COUNTY BOARD OFFICIAL REPORT OF PROCEEDINGS

The Organizational Session of the Iroquois County Board was held on Monday, December 3, 2018 at 5 P.M. in the County Board Room at the Administrative Center in Watseka, Illinois.

County Clerk Lisa Fancher called the meeting to order.

#### PRAYER & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

County Board member Barb Offill introduced Reverend Ron Bogenschneider, Pastor of the Agape Fellowship Church in Watseka, who gave the opening prayer after which the Pledge of Allegiance was recited in unison.

#### **OATH OF OFFICE**

County Clerk Lisa Fancher administered the oath of office to the newly elected County Board members.

County Clerk Lisa Fancher called the roll.

### STATE OF ILLINOIS IROQUOIS COUNTY

Roll call and votes in Iroquois County

Organizational Session, December 3, 2018

On motion to call the roll

Aye: Alt, Bard, Behrends, Bohlmann, Bowers, Coughenour, Crow, Curtis, Duby, Ducat, Huse, Johnson, McGinnis, McTaggart, Offill, Shure, Stichnoth, Whitlow, Young, Zumwalt

#### NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN

County Clerk Lisa Fancher asked for nominations for County Board Chairman. It was moved by Mrs. Crow and seconded to nominate Chad McGinnis as County Board Chairman. It was moved by Mrs. Alt and seconded to nominate John Shure as County Board Chairman. It was moved by Mrs. Johnson and seconded to close nominations for County Board Chairman. The nominations for Chairman were closed.

County Clerk Lisa Fancher called the roll, asking each member to state the name of the nominee of their choice for County Board Chairman. The following members cast their vote for the first nominee, Chad McGinnis: Bohlmann, Coughenour, Crow, Duby, Johnson, McGinnis, and Whitlow. The following members cast their vote for the second nominee, John Shure: Alt, Bard, Behrends, Bowers, Curtis, Ducat, Huse, McTaggart, Offill, Shure, Stichnoth, Young, and Zumwalt. Mr. Shure accepted election as County Board Chairman with the vote of thirteen (13) to seven (7).

#### NOMINATIONS FOR VICE CHAIRMAN

County Board Chairman John Shure asked for nominations for County Board Vice Chairman. It was moved by Mr. Ducat and seconded to nominate Lyle Behrends as County Board Vice Chairman. It was moved by Mr. Bohlmann and seconded to nominate Chad McGinnis as County Board Vice Chairman. It was moved by Mr. Stichnoth and seconded to

close the nominations for County Board Vice Chairman. The nominations for Vice Chairman were closed.

Chairman Shure asked County Clerk Lisa Fancher to call the roll, asking each member to state the name of the nominee of their choice for County Board Vice Chairman. The following members cast their vote for the first nominee, Lyle Behrends: Alt, Bard, Behrends, Bowers, Curtis, Ducat, Huse, McTaggart, Offill, Shure, Stichnoth, and Young. The following members cast their vote for the second nominee, Chad McGinnis: Bohlmann, Coughenour, Crow, Duby, Johnson, McGinnis, Whitlow, and Zumwalt. Mr. Behrends accepted election as County Board Vice Chairman with the vote of twelve (12) to eight (8).

#### ADOPTION OF ROBERT'S RULES OF ORDER

It was moved by Mr. Whitlow and seconded to adopt Robert's Rules of Order for conducting County Board meetings. The motion carried by a voice vote.

#### **COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS**

Chairman Shure provided the County Board with a list of committee appointments. It was moved by Mr. Ducat and seconded to approve the committee appointments as presented. The motion carried by a voice vote. Crow voted nay.

#### **COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS FOR 2019**

Management- Behrends, Alt, Ducat, Bowers, Zumwalt, Johnson, Bohlmann

Tax/Zoning- Stichnoth, Curtis, Offill, Bard, Coughenour, Duby, Whitlow

Health- Offill, Whitlow, Curtis, Bard, Coughenour, Duby

Judicial- Behrends, Ducat, Bard, Huse, Crow, McGinnis, Whitlow

Finance- McTaggart, Alt, Bowers, Curtis, Stichnoth, Young, Johnson

IT- McTaggart, Young, Bowers, Shure, Stichnoth

Highway- Alt, Young, Huse, Zumwalt, Crow, Johnson, McGinnis

Negotiations- Shure, Alt, Bowers, Ducat, Stichnoth

Policy & Procedure- Shure, Behrends, Alt, Offill, McTaggart, Stichnoth

First named is Chairman

Second named is Vice-Chairman

#### APPROVAL OF BONDS

Chairman Shure presented the following bond amounts for elected officials. It was moved by Mr. Alt and seconded to approve the bonds as presented. The motion was seconded and carried by a voice vote.

December 3, A.D., 2018

#### **BONDS FOR NEWLY ELECTED COUNTY OFFICIALS**

Sheriff	\$10,000
County Collector	\$25,000
County Treasurer	\$250,000
County Clerk	\$5,000
County Recorder	\$10,000

#### RESOLUTION NO. R2018-57 DESIGNATION OF DEPOSITORIES

Resolution No. R2018-57, the Designation of Depositories, was presented for approval. It was moved by Ms. Duby and seconded to approve Resolution No. R2018-57, the Designation of Depositories. The motion carried by a voice vote.

#### RESOLUTION NO. R2018-57 DESIGNATION OF DEPOSITORIES

WHEREAS, Kurt Albers, County Treasurer and Ex-Officio County Collector of Iroquois County pursuant to the terms of Chapter 120, Article 674, of the Illinois Revised Statutes, adopted and now in full force and effect, has requested the County Board of Iroquois County to designate a Bank or Banks, or other depository in which the funds and monies in his custody as County Treasurer and Ex-Officio County Collector of Iroquois County may be deposited.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Iroquois County that the following institutions are hereby designated depositories into which the funds and monies of Iroquois County in the custody of Kurt Albers, as County Treasurer and Ex-Officio County Collector may be deposited:

First Trust and Savings Bank, Watseka, Illinois Federated Bank, Chebanse, Loda, and Onarga, Illinois Buckley State Bank, Buckley, Illinois Farmers State Bank of Danforth, Danforth, Illinois

First Trust Bank of Clifton, Clifton, Illinois

Iroquois Federal Savings and Loan Association, Watseka, Clifton, Illinois

Frederick Community Bank, Cissna Park, Illinois

Citizens State Bank of Milford, Milford, Illinois

Prospect Bank, Gilman and Watseka, Illinois

Iroquois Farmers State Bank, Iroquois, Beaverville, Ashkum, Gilman, Sheldon, Watseka, Illinois

First Financial Bank, Watseka, Illinois

Commonwealth Credit Union, Watseka, Illinois

First State Bank of Forrest, Onarga, Illinois

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that each bank designated as a depository for such funds shall, while acting as such depository, furnish the Board with a copy of all such periodical statements of its resources and liabilities as are required under Section 906, Chapter 85, Illinois Revised Statutes.

Passed and adopted this 3rd day of December	er 2018.
s/John Shure	BOARD CHAIRMAN
s/ Michael McTaggart	FINANCE CHAIRMAN

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Chairman Shure went over minor changes to the meeting schedule before asking for a motion to adjourn. It was moved by Mr. Ducat and seconded to adjourn the meeting at 5:15 P.M. The motion carried by a roll call vote. The next County Board meeting will be held in Watseka, IL at the Administrative Center on Tuesday, December 11, 2018 at 5 P.M.